top of page

momentary nesting

This is today's entry of my '100 Day Project' which gets me to draw and write every day! More readable versions of these will be available when I have scanner access. [a notebook, landscape-style. At the top of the page there are three windows with varying colors. The first: yellows, blues, and greys, the second: mostly oranges and yellows, and the third: mostly purples and blues, with a fade into pink, orange, and yellow. They represent my body clock changing and waking me up a little earlier each day]

A month of low lows and high highs: now I am absolutely BURSTING with love and ideas and gratitude and energy and enthusiasm; I feel back to my usual explosive state. It's funny, I hardly remember writing the previous post back at the end of March – so much has changed since then. I am constantly astounded by the amount of change I get to experience. Some months feel like lifetimes! At times it's exhausting and at others, totally liberating.

24 days in Glasgow so far, and I get to spend five more weeks here. I am ridiculously excited about the many little luxuries of staying in one place for a time: nesting, attending weekly classes and trainings, being able to return (to places, conversations, projects), developing a morning ritual, knowing which buses take me where (and having a marked up map), knowing the slopes, curb-cuts and cracks of the neighborhoods I spend time in, developing friendships, cooking food and being able to pack lunches and picnics (budgeting is so much easier!), sinking into the geography, having a favorite tea mug, painting my fingernails, working consistently on long-term projects, having inside jokes...

I really wanna tell you about every single project and jam and show and adventure that's happening, but I feel like that will just become silly and tiring for you to read. I'm eating a lot and thinking about sustenance: what does it take to sustain oneself (literally and figuratively) as an artist?


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page