top of page

A brief letter to future buddies!

image description: a hand-written letter with a cut-out dorky photo of myself waving at the camera and also a small photo of my wheelchair and backpacking pack collaged on. the text reads:

HELLO friends of friends and potential future buddies!

I'm haley, enthusiastic improvising adventurer who is fortunate enough to be traveling the world this year on a research grant to study IMPROV, performance, identity and community. Let' hang out! I'm looking for lots of new friends in new places; this is the biggest improvisation I've stepped into - both in the sense that it's what I'll be studying, and also in the sense that a lot of my itinerary, happenings, housing, etc. will be improvised as I go! I have a lot of ideas, of course, but in the spirit of improv I hope to embrace the moment as much as possible. This year is also an improvisation for me in the dynamics of human relationships - how we rely and depend on each other, how we perform for each other, how we give-and-take.

In order to make it through the year on my stipend (and also to maximize opportunities to meet and engage with lovely fellow humans!) I'm trying to couch-surf a lot this year! If you or anyone you know might be interested in showing a newbie around your city, might have a spot to host a traveler for a few days, or might be willing to share some insights on the local theatre scene, I'd be so GRATEFUL AND EXCITED to get in touch! I realize I'm asking a lot of the universe - flinging myself into the world and asking for friendship and time and places to sleep for indefinite amounts of time - do I certainly hope nobody feels undue pressure to offer more than they can give! I'm trusting that things will work out and will gratefully accept whatever people can offer. I'm on a tight budget but we can work things out and I'll be sure to shower you with gratitude in a variety of creative ways - from color-organizing your bookshelves (if you want) to washing your dishes to making you drawings, songs, and poems. I'm traveling pretty light and I'll keep tidy and out of your way - my biggest luggage is stella, my wheelchair, which is lighteight and foldable, and I usually only use for longer distances. We can chat about accessibility and feel free to ask me any questions, but as a more part-time chair user I'm able to adapt to spaces that aren't entirely wc accessible.

I'd LOVE to hear from you - this little note emphasized housing but I'm also so down for hellos, hang outs, improv ideas, etc!

As always, I'm deeply aware of how privileged I am to even be putting this out there - thanks so much to the extended communities who time and again have reached out with ideas, warmth, and support.

much love,

haley

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page