top of page

Talk it out

I'm super tired of hearing myself talk! A tricky moment for an aggressively self-reflective verbal learner. I'm lucky to have such engaging conversations so frequently, but I often leave them regretful about how much talking I've done and how little listening. For a while I let this discomfort pinch my brains a bit, and it recently struck me that I talk a lot because I have a lot to say. Upon further reflection, I don't actually think that's the worst thing ever. BUT, I would like to find creative and balanced ways of sharing those things while also leaving conversational space for others. I'm wondering in what ways sharing can occasionally help make space for others – my own sense of identity wouldn't be what it is if not for the generosity of other people sharing their stories and making space for mine. Also hoping to write some of these things OUT so that I have more space in my brain for listening, because I have so freaking much to learn.

I blogged a little at the end of last spring and during the summer, but I've snowballed into having so much to write that I got overwhelmed and had to stop a while. Before I can get into some of the more nuanced musings that I've been wanting to articulate - relating to improv, performance, feminism, life - I feel like I need to write a “coming out disabled” story...

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page