top of page

On blogging intentions and internet rabbit holes

Almost two months later, this is still very unreal to me. Perhaps it will be for a long, long time. But now that I’m done with school (?!) I’ve been clearing out space enough to finally open a window into the enormity of bewilderment, anticipation, gratitude, enthusiasm, love, and fear that I have toward this impending adventure. There is so much to be done – from immunizations to housing to background research – which I am on the precipice of plunging into. For now though, I’m trying to stay in the moment – passing along Grove House responsibilities, packing up my room (veeeery slowly), writing letters, etc – and let my thoughts for this summer and year fall loosely. One thought that’s been settling in the back of my mind is how I want to treat this little blog of mine, what are my intentions for it? I hope to enter this year with utmost intention – I feel like it’s the least I can do having been granted such an absurd and extraordinary privilege! Much of my desire to maintain a blog is grounded in the acknowledgement that my receiving a Watson was no solo act – this is contingent upon the care, love, guidance, and support of so, so, so many people.

I have to admit that I am both honored and terrified by the trust that people apparently have in me to do this… I so intensely want to give it back to the world in any way that I can. Perhaps part of how I conceptualize that, being the narrative nerd that I am, is by making some of my stories available to the people who allow me to live them. This blog is a humble offering to family, friends, peers, mentors, strangers, acquaintances, fellow improvisers and everyone who in some intricate way puts up with my antics and gives me permission to be who I am each day, allowing me this opportunity.

Being finished with school lets me spend more time away from the computer, which has pushed me to reflect on my not-always-satisfying relationship with the internet. Looking back on the first time I lived abroad (which feels so long ago now – just after graduating from high school – and also one of few international travel experiences I’ve had), I spent a lot of time homesick and on the computer. I’m torn between wanting to steer away from the internet as a means of procrastinating or disengaging from loneliness and the reality that it’s kinda useful! Honestly, social media will be extremely helpful in researching and connecting me to world-wide improvisers. Also, keeping in touch is very difficult for but also important to me. My GREATEST concern is that people will somehow not know how deeply I love and value them. If you’re reading this and we haven’t spoken in a while, please know that I appreciate, care about, and think of you often – people from all stages and facets of my life are constantly running through my mind! I suppose what I’m getting at is that my relationship to blogging, to social media, to the internet, to privacy and publicness (especially after living in a public house for the past year!), is a confused one that I’m still working out. Right now I’ll make no commitments about how regularly this will be updated, but I do offer it to you in whatever form it takes.

Improv, after all, is so deeply about connecting with an audience!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page